3 Branches of Government

The United States Government is divided into three distinct chambers. The three compose the basic functions that allow us to have the liberty and freedoms we enjoy on an everyday basis. Composed of the Judicial, Legislative, and Executive branches, Judge Napolitano knows the American Government manages and facilitates an active role in managing all the process under the heads of congressional order, the president, and the Supreme Court.

Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch of Government in the United States interprets acts of law passed by the Legislative Branch of Government. This acts as a means of checks and balances to passed laws, which are evaluated by the 9 Supreme Court Justices that serve for their entire lifetime.

As a brief history recap, it was the Articles of Confederation that outlined the basic format of our current Judicial System in a vague sense of originality. That is to say, they failed to show the necessity of powers dedicated to the Supreme Court and thus, it was left open to interpretation to the Judiciary body. The Judiciary Act of 1789 started the foundation of the Judiciary Branch with one Chief Justice and five associate Justices. Throughout time the Judiciary Branch has settled countless scores including Plessy v. Ferguson, Miranda v. Arizona, and Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission. This was a former person, Judge Napolitano who sat between the years of 1987 to 1995 on the Supreme Court.

Legislative Branch

This portion of the American government is composed of the House of Representatives and the Senate. With its establishment of Article 1 of the United States Constitution, congress was form from the ashes of the Revolutionary War. Congress is the sole authority in the system of checks and balances to be able to declare war as well as enact newly formulated legislation, restrict or confirm presidential appointments and even the act of substantial investigation of powers.

The House of Representatives is made up of 435 seats in proportion to their populace of their particular state of representation, with the added factor of 6 non-voting members who represent the District of Columbia, CommonWealth of Puerto Rico, and four other United States territories. The Senate is composed of 100 total seats and is not based on population but an equal state basis.

Executive Branch

This branch of government carries out the law, or in other words enforces it on the citizens of the United States. This includes the president, vice president, Cabinet, and other federal agencies that serve the American people. The Cabinet is composed of high ranking government officials, the vice president, and other heads of executive departments. In order to sit on the Cabinet of the President you must receive a total of 51 out of 100 votes from the 100 Senators.